Picture2 037 copy.jpg

The DTWG is pleased to offer student research grants and awards to recognize outstanding student contributions to terrapin research, distinguished service to the DTWG, and the work of individuals and organizations that have made sustained, notable efforts towards education and actions for terrapin conservation.

DTWG Research Grants

2022 Call for Grants Awards


The Diamondback Terrapin Working Group (DTWG) is issuing a call for proposals for research/education involving conservation and management of diamondback terrapins.


Grant amounts: Up to three meritorious grant awards up to $1000 each.


Eligibility: Applicants must be DTWG members. For student applicants, a brief letter from the faculty mentor should accompany the proposal.

Click the button to download the full 2022 grant program description and application instruction.

Applications are due March 15, 2022.

Award funds will be distributed by May 1, 2022.

Citizen Conservation Award

This was established in 2020 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated long-term and substantive efforts to promote education and actions for the conservation of Diamondback terrapins. Any DTWG member may submit a recommendation for an award recipient to be considered by the DTWG board. Non-DTWG individuals or organizations should contact an active DTWG member if they wish to propose a nominee.


2020 - Charlotte Sornborger (inaugural recipient)

Student Awards

The DTWG offer Student Travel Awards and Outstanding Presentation and Outstanding Poster Awards associated with its Triennial Workshop.

The next Triennial Workshop is planned for 2022 in Athens, GA.

More information on student travel and presentation awards will be available closer to the workshop.

Terrapin Conservation Award

The Terrapin Conservation Award is given to a member of the DTWG who has demonstrated a long-term and distinguished contribution to our knowledge of terrapin, public awareness of terrapins, or the conservation of terrapins and has demonstrated a sustained commitment in service to the DTWG. Recipients of the Terrapin Conservation Award are determined by the DTWG Board.

Past recipients:

2019 - Dr. Russell Burke, Hofstra University